MINUTES

AAPA Annual Business Meeting January 13, 2005 - Reno, NV

The 21st Annual Business Meeting of the American Association of Professional Apiculturists was called to order by President John Skinner at 5:24 PM on Thursday, January 13th, 2005. The meeting was held in conjunction with the American Beekeeping Federation Convention in Reno, Nevada.

Those signing the attendance sheet were: Nick Aliano, Andy Ammons, Jerry Bromenshenk, Susan Cobey, Bob Cole, Bob Cox, Rob Currie, Keith Delaplane, Marion Ellis, Jerry Fischer, John Harbo, Ann Harman, Jeffrey Harris, Michael Hood, Don Hopkins, Zachary Huang, Greg Hunt, Ed Levi, Heather Matilla, Eric Mussen, Doug McRory, Medhat Nasr, Nancy Ostiguy, Jose Luis Reyes Camillo, Raul Rivera, Gary Reuter, Malcolm Sanford, John Skinner, Marla Spivak, and Adrian Wenner.

After reviewing the agenda for the American Bee Research segments of the meeting, John thanked Marion Ellis for organizing the order of speakers for the two sessions. John thanked John Harbo for, again, collecting the abstracts and getting them to the publisher at the American Bee Journal. Then President Skinner presented the plaque for the student scholarship award for 2004 to Nick Aliano.

The Minutes of the 2004 Annual Business Meeting were accepted as published on line. Eric Mussen reported that the general funds of the organization had grown from \$10,411.42 to \$11,152.92 over fiscal 2004. The Treasurer's Report was accepted.

Ann Harman expressed disappointment over the lack of abstracts that were supposed to accompany the applications for the student scholarship this year. So, abstracts were not used in the deliberations. The \$50 winner of the student presentation award was Ramesh Sagehli and the \$1000 winner of the student research award was Andrew Ammons. Marion Ellis reminded us that the Foundation for the Preservation of Honey Bees provides scholarships to allow students working on bee projects to attend and report their results at the ABF convention. A number of them attended this meeting.

Greg Hunt reported for the Nominating Committee: Marla Spivak was selected as the choice for Vice-president. Discussion followed Marla's nomination. The questions were: 1. Should the Vice-president be elected exclusively to that position or elected with the expectation of becoming President at the end of the vice-presidential term? and 2. Is it appropriate to expect an individual to devote four consecutive years (two years as VP, followed by two years as Pres) to being an active officer of AAPA? The Secretary/Treasurer was asked to review the Bylaws and perhaps suggest an amendment that would reduce the term of Vice-president and President to one year each, but with the expectation of the VP becoming Pres (a two year commitment).

The members voted to dedicate the 2005 Proceedings of the American Bee Research Conference, when published in the American Bee Journal, to Dr. Patti Elzen.

Elections were held, and Marion Ellis and Marla Spivak were elected as President and Vice-president, respectively, by acclamation.

The next AAPA Annual Business Meeting and American Bee Research Conference tentatively are being scheduled to be held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Apiary Inspectors of America in Baton Rouge, LA, at the beginning of December 2005. Greg Hunt reminded us that we (academicians) can contact our Deans and ask for funding to attend the North Central Regional Project meeting, which meets regularly with the AAPA/ABRC meeting.

Rob Currie announced that the combined meeting of the Canadian Association of Professional Apiculturists and the Canadian Honey Council would be held in conjunction with the Saskatchewan Beekeepers' Association convention from February 1st to 5th, 2005.

President Skinner adjourned the meeting at 6:22 PM.

Eric Mussen Secretary/Treasurer